DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 28, 2016) – For the second straight year, the Mu Rho chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society at Daytona State College has been named a Five-DSC Phi Theta Kappa chapter again earns prestigious five-star designationStar chapter by the Missouri-based national honor society, founded in 1918 to recognize and encourage scholarship and service among two-year college students.

Earning the five-star designation is the most exclusive status a chapter can achieve.

"This is fantastic news for our college and our students," said DSC President Tom LoBasso. "Earning the prestigious five-star designation two years in a row reflects on the character and quality of our PTK students, as well as their individual commitment to excellence, leadership and service. It also acknowledges the efforts of our faculty and club advisors who dedicate themselves to fostering academic excellence and integrity in our students inside and outside the classroom."

The five-star designation recognizes PTK chapters for student engagement, both on campus and in the community. As part of its five-star efforts this year, Mu Rho hosted bowling and movie nights benefitting the Conklin Center for the Blind, participated in fundraisers for the American Heart Association and Multiple Sclerosis Foundation, and helped sponsor blood drives on campus. The chapter also packaged 10,000 meals as part of the national Stop Hunger Now initiative, and launched an academic research project called Honors in Action focusing on frontiers in astrobiology.

Chapter advisor Steven Pruitt said the Mu Rho chapter is always seeking new members. To be eligible for PTK membership, DSC students must have at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and must have completed 12 semester hours. Members are eligible for over $87 million in scholarship opportunities from the national PTK organization, as well as from partnering four-year colleges, universities and foundations.

This year's Mu Rho chapter officers are Jacob Swaggerty, president; Danjha Leon, vice president; Kelcie Knapp, vice president of membership; Adedoyin Adepegba, secretary; Christopher Gow, treasurer; Ryan Kirby, parliamentarian; and Dave Masaitis, vice president of communication.