Do I need to be hired by an agency to get into the Law Enforcement or Corrections Academy?
No. You may attend either academy without being hired or even considered by an agency. However, you must meet the minimum qualifications for FDLE Certification (see the Law Enforcement Academy Page.)
Some academy applicants may meet the minimum FDLE requirements, but may have problems in their backgrounds that would keep them from actually getting hired by an agency, even after completing the academy and passing the state examination. Problems include past drug use, misdemeanor arrests and a bad driving history. The School of Emergency Services reviews each application, and if such problems are found, we will let you know. We encourage all students to contact the agencies for which they want to work before entering the academy to be sure that they meet each agency's minimium qualifications.
How much does it cost? Can I get financial aid?
Cost depends on whether or not you qualify as a Florida Resident under the College's rules. Resident cost is about $3,800, while non-resident cost is about $11,000. These costs include tuition, books, fees, labs and required uniforms.
Financial aid is available, but individuals should first check with and apply at the financial aid office prior to registering for the academy.
Some agencies provide sponsorships, where they pick up the cost of all or some of the academy. Sponsorships are dependent on individual agency needs at the time, so check with the agencies for which you would like to work and determine if you are eligible for any sponsorships.
I was a police officer/corrections officer in another state. Do I have to take the entire academy?
For Out-Of-State Officers
FROM the Florida Department of Law Enforcement
You may be eligible for an exemption from the full basic training requirements if you were an officer in another state or with the federal government and meet the following requirements: (1) you worked at least one year, full-time as a sworn officer in the discipline you are seeking exemption; (2) you received training in that discipline which is comparable to Florida's full basic curriculum and/or; (3) you were previously certified in Florida. There can be no more than an 8 year break in employment, which is measured from the separation date of the most recent qualifying employment to the time a complete application CJSTC-76 is submitted for exemption. In order to become a certified officer in Florida, you will need to demonstrate proficiency in the high liability areas and pass the state certification exam in the same discipline within 1 year of receipt of the approved Equivalency of Training Form (CJSTC-76 revised 7/01/02).
By law, criminal justice employing agencies or selection centers are responsible for reviewing out-of-state or federal officer's employment and training to initially determine eligibility for exemption. The Florida Department of Law Enforcement does not determine a person's eligibility. Upon collection, verification and authentication of documentation which establishes that you meet the training and experience requirements, a criminal justice employing agency or an assessment center must submit a completed Equivalency of Training Out of State/Federal Officer form CJSTC-76 (pdf) to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement for approval. (The applicant does not complete the CJSTC-76 form)
Documentation of one year's experience as an out-of-state or federal officer may consist of authentic copies of one or more of the following:
- payroll records
- employment records
- verification of employment letters/affidavits
- Documentation of prior training
Once the request is processed, and if approved, you should then enroll in the appropriate pre-exam training (if you choose), demonstrate proficiency in the high liability areas, and take the state certification exam.
See the FDLE Website for more Information.
The Daytona State College School of Emergency Services does NOT conduct the pre-exam training described in this rule.