1. When may I start the program?
This program begins once a year in the Fall term (August). Applications are accepted anytime throughout the year. Selection is based on the applicant’s academic record. Application submission does not guarantee Program acceptance.
2. What are the program hours?
Currently, there is only an evening program. Classes meet Monday through Thursday, between the hours of 3:00pm to 10:00pm. Students may have the option to take a Day clinical which meets on Tuesday and Thursday between the hours of 9:00am to 3:00pm or the Evening clinic from 4:00pm to 10:00pm. Classes are held on the Daytona Beach campus. Class times may vary according to the instructor.
3. What are the admission requirements for the program?
Applicants must be at least 18 years of age and have high school diploma or GED®. Interested applicants must have the ability and willingness to participate in all course work.
Completion of college level English and Math (ENC1101 and MAT1033) with a passing grade of “C” or better. Alternately, completion of the TABE Placement Test with a satisfying exit score level (10th grade level in Reading and English, and 9th grade level in Math).
Applicants must also complete a Florida Department of Law Enforcement Level II (FDLE) background check ($90.00 fee) which includes fingerprinting and drug testing. Potential applicants must not be found guilty of any Felony offense regardless of adjudication withheld.
4. Is this a certification program?
Yes, a vocational certificate in Therapeutic Massage will be issued after successful completion of the 2 semester, 750 vocational hour program.
5. Must I take a board exam upon completion of this program? What is the cost?
As an eligibility criterion for licensure, a national certification examination must be taken. The approximate fees for these exams are $225.00.
6. Is there a license requirement for this occupation?
Yes, you must have a license to practice Massage Therapy in Florida. The approximate fee for licensure is $205.00.
7. What is required to maintain Florida Licensure and National Certification?
24 Continuing Education Units (CEU) every two years. Licensure renewal every two years at $155
48 Continuing Education Units (CEU) every four years
Renewal fee - $100
8. How much does the program cost?
This is a 25-hour vocational credit program (750 vocational hours). The approximate cost of tuition $82.24 for in-state ($2,056.00); an additional amount of $1,100 for textbooks, supplies, fees, uniforms and licensing exams. Total cost is approximately $3,100. Financial aid is available for this program.
9. What are the other financial responsibilities of the student?
Clinical or field work attire is required. Students must have slacks, closed toe shoes, and a Polo shirt for clinical and field work. This dress code must meet the guidelines that are outlined in the program’s policy manual.
Each student must supply their own linens. This includes a single set of sheets (one flat and fitted), a pillowcase, a large bath or beach towel, and two hand towels. Students are not required to purchase their own lotions or oils.
10. Will financial aid be available?
Yes. For those students who meet the eligibility requirements. Contact the Financial Aid office for more information.
Students must be ready to engage in an educational experience to gain technical skills and experience that will enable them to be a professional and responsible Massage Therapist.